Dum Aloo

Baby Potatoes  are in season now. I love buying them on and off . Kiddo loves eating them as he can eat in one bite. It makes him feel grown up. 😉

I love making this yogurt based curry as it doesn’t require much efforts and also tastes rich with Rotis, Rice or even flavored Rices like Pulav. Do try them and I am sure this won’t be the last time yo make this.

IMG20171206074044

Ingredients:

  • Baby Potatoes: 10- 12 (Boiled)
  • Yogurt: 1/2 cup
  • Onions: 1 medium sized finely chopped
  • Ginger Garlic Paste: 1 tsp
  • Cashews: 7-8
  • Turmeric Powder: 1/2 tsp
  • Red Chili Powder: 1 tsp ( I used Kashmiri Red Chili Powder)
  • Coriander Powder: 1 tsp
  • Garam Masala: a pinch
  • Salt : as per Taste.
  • Fennel Seeds: 1 tsp
  • Oil: 2 tbsp
  • Cumin Seeds: 1 tsp
  • Coriander Leaves: chopped a handful.

To Puree:

  • Tomatoes: 2 medium ones 
  • Cashew: 7-8

IMG20171206074017

Method:

  • Boil the potatoes and using fork make some holes in them.
  •  Heat oil in a pan, add the fennel seeds, cumin seeds. Saute on a low flame.
  • Add onions and ginger garlic paste fry till raw smell goes.
  • Puree the tomatoes and cashews and add them to the onions.
  • Beat the yogurt, lower the flame and add it.
  • Add the spices and salt. Cook till the oil separates.
  • Add the baby potatoes, little water and simmer till the flavors blends and comes together.
  • Check for the desired consistency and garnish with coriander leaves.
  • Serve with Rotis/ Paranthas / Rice.

Published by kavitaparvathi

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say “there’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. 🙂 Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

One thought on “Dum Aloo

Leave a comment

Indian kitchen

Love for home cooked food

My Take

A peep in my kitchen

The Era I Lived In

Personal life stories of a weight loss coach helping simplify health and wellness to create a better life.

THE WONDER YEARS.....

.........................Har Pal Kuch Khaas Hai

Foodaterian

A peep in my kitchen

The Little Princess

A peep in my kitchen