Neyi Appam

Neyi means ghee. Appam means soft pancakes. This one is also known as Unni Appam, a right name that describes the sweet well. Kerala people call this Unni Appam and Palakkad ones Neyi Appam. Its also distributed as Prasadam in many temples (specially Kerala). A must for Karti Deepam/ Gokhulashtami, this sweet has the goodness of jaggery, elaichi and coconut. A famous Kerala sweet, I love making this once in a while and indulging in it. 🙂

For Karti we make this alongside Adai and Poris for the neivedyam and offer to Lord.  This festival is also celebrated to commemorate the bonding between brothers and sisters in South India (like Bhai dhuj and Raksha Bandan). Sisters pray for the prosperity and success of their brothers and light lamps to mark the occasion.

Neyi Appam

Ingredients:

  • Raw Rice: 1 Cup
  • Vellam (Jaggery) chopped: 1-1 1/2  cup (adjust sweetness as desired)
  • 1 elaichi banana
  • 1 tsp cardamom powder
  • Coconut Pieces: 2 tbsp
  • Ghee for frying

IMNeyi Appam

Method:

  • Soak the raw rice for 3-4 hours.
  • Chop the jaggery, peel the cardamom from the pod and keep aside.
  • Chop the coconut pieces in thin slices and keep aside.
  • Grind the raw rice smoothly. Then add cardamom seeds, banana and jaggery into fine paste with little water and grind till smooth.
  • Keep aside for minimum an hour. Add the coconut slices.
  • Heat a paniyaram pan or appam pan add ghee and drop a small ladle of the batter.
  • Fry in a low/ medium flame flipping the sides till golden brown.
  • Store in an air tight container. Stays good for 2-3 days.

Tip:
Don’t skip the addition of banana as it helps in getting the smooth appams.

 

Published by kavitaparvathi

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say “there’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. 🙂 Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

Leave a comment

Indian kitchen

Love for home cooked food

My Take

A peep in my kitchen

The Era I Lived In

Personal life stories of a weight loss coach helping simplify health and wellness to create a better life.

THE WONDER YEARS.....

.........................Har Pal Kuch Khaas Hai

Foodaterian

A peep in my kitchen

The Little Princess

A peep in my kitchen