Posted in Kozumbu for rice, No onion no garlic foods, No onion no garlic side dish

Keerai Molguttal

A very healthy and interesting twist to Palak Dal  given by  South Indian TamBrahms (Tamil Brahmins) .Mom used to make this for sure on Amavasai day, when she used to avoid cooking using tamarind. A spoon of ghee topped its heaven for me in every bite. Pair it with a simple lemon pickle/ thogayal/ Thayir Khicadi/ Puli Inji this one becomes one of the most soul satisfying meals. Healthy and full of nutrition’s, we make this often.

Try this and I am sure you would love this.

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-25 at 11.22.14

Ingredients:

Palak washed and cleaned: 2 cups

Moong Dal: 1 cup

Grated Coconut: ¾ th cup

Cumin seeds: 1 tsp

Red Chili: 1-2

Salt as per taste

Tadka:

Coconut Oil: 1 tsp.

Mustard Seeds:  1 tsp.

DSC03322

Method:

  1. Pressure cook the moong dal. Keep aside.
  2. Bring water to boil add turmeric, salt and the palak leaves for a couple of minutes. Wash in cold water.
  3. Puree the palak and the coconut, cumin seeds and red chili into fine paste. Either paste together or separately.
  4. Mix them with dal and bring them to boil, check for salt seasoning.
  5. Heat a pan, give tadka and pour over the molguttal.
  6. Serve hot with any side dish of your choice.
Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say “there’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. 🙂 Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

Leave a Reply

