Posted in Accompaniments, Chutneys, keepers

Thengai Podi

This is my mom’s recipe. Whenever she has excess coconut she makes this podi. One of the best ways to use up the coconut when it becomes old and can’t be used for cooking. Also the coconut waste after extracting coconut milk can also be used for this podi.

Sprinkle this on your dosa, idli, upma or mix it with rice and ghee. It tastes awesome. The best part is it can be sprinkled over the curries like bhindi fry/ aloo and a new twist can be given to the veggie.

IMG_20170531_112828_084

Do try this, I am sure you won’t be disappointed.

Here goes the recipe:

Ingredients:

Coconut: 2 cups

Urad dal: ½ cup

Chana Dal: ½ cup

Red Chilies: 6-7

Tamarind: small lemon size

Salt to taste:

Hing: a pinch

Method:

  1. Roast urad dal, chana dal and red chilies on a low flame. Add hing to it.
  2. When it turns golden brown transfer the contents to the mixer jar, allow to cool. Add tamarind piece.
  3. Roast the coconut till golden brown and allow cooling.
  4. Grind the dals roughly, and add the coconut. Add salt as needed and grind a little smooth. Not, much as the coconut will start leaving oil.
  5. Cool and store in an air tight container.

 

PS: We sprinkled over crackers and ate. 😉

Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say “there’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. 🙂 Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

Leave a Reply

