Posted in Easy Sabzis, No onion no garlic foods, No onion no garlic side dish, South style poriyal, Vishu/ Onam Sadya Recipes

Podalangai Poriyal

Poriyals form a very important part of South Indian meals. Can be made using variety of veggies. Today im sharing one such recipe of Parwal also called Podalangai poriyal. Simple, full of taste this makes a great side dish for sambars/rasam/ Mor kozumbu or even chapatis.

Here goes the recipe:IMG-20170325-WA0004

Ingredients:

Podalangai: 2 cups chopped

Curry Leaves: a spring.

Fresh grated coconut:1/2 cup

Green chillies: 1-2 (depending on the spice required)

To temper:

Coconut oil/sunflower oil: 1 tbsp

Mustard seeds: 1 tsp

Urad dal: 1 tsp

Hing: a pinch

Turmeric powder: 1 tsp

Salt as needed

Method:

 1.Heat a pan,add oil, mustard seeds, urad dal, curry leaves.As they crackle add the hing.

2.Add the chopped parwal, turmeric powder, salt and water 2 cups and close the lid and allow cooking.

3.Grind the coconut shavings and green chili. Keep aside.

4.As the water dries up in the curry ass the ground coconut paste and mix well.

5.Serve hot.

DSC03024

Note:

Sunflower oil works fine but coconut oil adds more flavor to the poriyal.

Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say “there’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. 🙂 Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

Leave a Reply

