Posted in Easy sweets, Traditional sweets

Khavyachi Poli

Being 100th post i thought what better than a sweet dish recipe. After swinging like a pendulam from cakes to biscuits to kheer, i thought i would post this simple recipe.

I hope and wish to keep writing and sharing many such wonderful recipes. Thank you all for the support and love. Always be there.

I had got mava in excess so was wondering what to do with it. Even coconut was excess so when browsing, a thought me to make a mixture  of both and make poli . You can use the same stuffing for fried modak too. They came out very well. We all loved the soft delicious melt in mouth polis.

img_20160906_181807

Here goes the recipe:

Ingredients:

For Filling:

Khava: 1 cup

Coconut: 1 cup

Sugar: 3/4th cup

Cardamoms: 1 tsp

For Poli:

Wheat flour: 2 cups

Salt : a pinch

Water:as needed

 

img_20160906_181205

Method:

  1. Using ingredients for poli, make a soft dough. Keep aside.
  2.  Heat a pan, add the mava, sugar and coconut and cook on a low flame till the water evaporates and it comes together.
  3. Allow it to cool a bit.
  4. Take a pinch of wheat flour dough, roll it small, stuff a spoonful of this mixture.
  5. Close it by pinching the sides and again roll back medium thick.
  6. Heat a tava, transfer the poli and cook by smearing ghee on both sides.
  7. Serve hot with a spoon of ghee aside.

Note:

The Poli can be made in advance too. Just warm before serving. Stays good for a day.

The stuffing can be made in advance and refrigerated.Stays good for a week.

 

 

Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say “there’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. 🙂 Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

Leave a Reply

