Posted in Easy Snacks/ Dinner, fun foods, Region specials

Thalipeeth

One of the most favorite snack in Maharashtrian household.Similar to Akki Rotis in Karnataka, I have grown up eating them. Its one of the healthiest as all the flours come together plus doesn’t require much oil and also when paired with butter or Peanut powder, its a match made in heaven.

Do try this. I am sure you would love this.

img_20160923_192624

Ingredients:

Rice flour, Besan, wheat flour, Maida, Bajra: 1 cup each

Red chilli powder: 2 tsp

Salt to taste

Ajwain: 1 tsp

Onions: 2 finely chopped.

Coriander Leaves: 1/2 cup chopped

Water as needed

Method:

  1. Mix all the flours, add salt, ajwain, chili powder, onions and coriander leaves.
  2.  Add water as required and make a smooth dough.
  3.  Rest for 20 minutes. Pinch a ball from the dough, oil the butter paper/ plastic using and place on a butter paper/plastic bag.
  4. Spread it with hands thinning the edges, as big as you can.
  5.  Reverse the butter paper on a hot tava, the paper will leave as the thalipeeth starts cooking .
  6. Pour oil on the edges and flip over and cook in a low medium heat.
  7. Serve hot with curd or ghee or powder

 

img_20160923_192622

 

Notes:

You can add carrots also to make this more nutritious.

 

 

Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say “there’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. 🙂 Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

Leave a Reply

