Posted in Uncategorized

Rice kheer

Today is the first anniversary of this blog. πŸ™‚ One wonderful year of learning, developing,experimenting and sharing new recipes. I still remember i started this on a whim. Its a dream i had for long time and was thinking of doing it someday. πŸ™‚ All of a sudden last year i just decided to take a plunge.

The first year has been very beautiful. Lots of challenges, very less followers , very less people who visit and put in a word of appreciation; these are the things we look for. A smile spreads when someone says they love this space. πŸ™‚ I Β know this isn’t and won’t be easy to get people to visit and even maybe like the space. But would keep trying. Even one person benefited is worth the effort. πŸ™‚

Today, I am sharing an easy kheer recipe. This one is a favorite and can be made with minimal ingredients. Best served hot or cold.

whatsapp-image-2016-11-17-at-12-29-57

Ingredients:

Rice: 1/2 cup

Full fat Milk: 1 litre

Sugar: 1/2 to 3/4 th cup

Cardamoms: 1 tsp

Method:

  1. Take 1 tbsp of sugar in a heavy bottom pan and let it caramelize on a low flame.. It would harden, no problem.
  2. Pout the milk, and start stirring. Allow to boil and reduce . Do this on a medium flame.
  3. Pressure cook the rice with 1 to 1.25 cups water. It should be soft and nicely cooked.
  4. Once the milk reduces to 3/4th , add sugar, cardamoms Β and rice and cook till desired consistency.
  5. Serve hot or chilled.

Notes:

The first step gives you a nice pink color to kheer making it look creamy. You can skip the step and go ahead with the rest of the recipe too.

 

Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say β€œthere’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. πŸ™‚ Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

4 thoughts on “Rice kheer

Leave a Reply

