Posted in Accompaniments, evening snacks, fun foods, No onion no garlic foods

Kothimbir Wadi (Coriander leaves croquettes)

One of the traditional snacks in Maharashtra. I end up making these whenever i see fresh greenest coriander leaves. Can be pan fried or deep fried, but this snack and the flavors associated makes you wanting for more.ย ๐Ÿ™‚ Goes well with a steaming cuppa chai and some great friends and old memories. ๐Ÿ˜€

Also can be made as starters or party snacks. The preparation part can be done a day before and can fry when needed.

Do try this recipe.

PhotoGrid_1468754325841

 

Ingredients:ย 

2 cups kothimbir (coriander leaves) finely chopped

1 1/2 cup Besan

1/4 cup roasted peanut +green chillies coarsely pounded powder

1 tbsp red chilli powder

1/2 tsp Turmeric powder

1/4 tsp Hing (asafoetida)

2 tsp white sesame seeds

Salt to taste

Oil for frying

1/4 cup curd dilutes with 1/2 cup water.

Water as needed.
Method:

1.ย In a bowl add chopped kothimbir, besan, red chilly powder, sesame seeds,salt,buttermilk and water as needed.. Mix well to form a paste (paste should not be very thick or very thin). See to it that no lumps are formed.

Now add poundedย powder to the ย kothimbir mixture.

Now grease a bowl that fits in the cooker( i used my dhokla stand) with oil and pour this mixture onto it, tap the mixture evenly..The vadi should be atleast 1 inch thick.

Now steam for 10 minutes in medium flame. Check whether done by inserting a knife. It should come clean.

Now cut the kothimbir vadi mixture into square or diamond shape. When the kothimbir vadi cools down a bit deep fry or shallow fry the vadi’s as per your preference. Can be refrigerated and kept for a day or two, not more than that.

Serve hot with chutney/ sauce.

IMG_20160717_161951

 

 

Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say โ€œthereโ€™s always scope of betterโ€. I like to follow that. I believe thereโ€™s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. ๐Ÿ™‚ Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

2 thoughts on “Kothimbir Wadi (Coriander leaves croquettes)

Leave a Reply

