Posted in No onion no garlic side dish, Pickles,Thokku, Side dish

Mango Thokku

Raw mango pickles is a great accompaniment for all the breakfasts. I love to make pickles with them grated. But my mom, makes the most amazing cut ones too, hands down no one can come closer to the pickle with minimum oil and liberal taste. It is so tasty that it can be eaten all by itself. πŸ™‚

Here’s my recipe for the thokku. Thokku although, requires a little more oil, but very tasty and is a great side dish for curd rice. πŸ™‚ Also goes well with molaguttal.

 

DSC01877

Ingredients:

Raw Mango: 1 grated

Oil (Gingelly) : 3 tbsp

Mustard seeds: 2 tsp

Hing: 1/2 tsp

Salt : as needed.

Jaggery: 1 tbsp (optional)

Red chili powder: 2 tbsp.

Method:

  1. Grate the mango and keep aside.
  2. Heat a pan, add oil mustard seeds, hing, allow to crackle.
  3. Add the grated mango,red chilli powder, salt and jaggery.
  4. In a medium / low flame allow to cook till they form amass and oil leaves.
  5. Store in a glass bowl. Use as needed. Make sure to use a dry spoon.

DSC01880

Notes:

You can skip the jaggery if you don’t like the sweet flavor in pickle. The addition although, take the flavors to another level.

Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say β€œthere’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. πŸ™‚ Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

Leave a Reply

