Posted in Bakes and cakes

Dates Choco chip cake

 I had a bottle of dates syrup which I was planning to out to better use. Since kiddo preferred his health drink over my choice, I had to incorporate dates in his diet in some other way and Voila!! I thought of baking a cake. I had baked cakes using Dates, this time I experimented with the syrup. Must say was impressed with the results.

The cakes were soft and the syrup added its own taste to the cake and the Choco chips balanced it. The kiddo loved it so it’s Mission Accomplished for me. 🙂

Let’s come to the recipe, hope you try and love it.

Dates chocochip cake (1)

 

Makes 16-18 pieces

Ingredients:

All-purpose flour:  2 ¼ cups

Baking soda: 1 tbsp.

Baking powder: 1 tbsp.

Sugar: ½ cup

Dates syrup: 1 ½ cups.( I used Lion Dates syrup)

Curd beaten: 1 ½. Cup

Oil: ½ cup

Vanilla essence: 2 tsp.

Milk: as needed.

 For Garnish:

Choco chips: ½ cup

 Method:

Preheat the oven at 180 degrees for 10 minutes.

  1. Sieve the maida and keep aside.
  2. Beat the curd, add baking powder, soda, sugar and mix thoroughly.
  3. When you see bubbles coming add oil, dates syrup, vanilla essence and mix well.
  4. Add the flour to the wet ingredients little by little and mix them thoroughly without forming lumps.
  5. Fold the ingredients, if too thick add a little milk and bring it to desired consistency. It should be like a thick dosa batter consistency.
  6. Transfer them to the baking bowl and top with the choco chips.
  7. Bake them for 10 minutes in 200 degrees and 15 minutes more at 180 degrees.
  8. Keep an eye after 20 minutes and check the edges for doneness.
  9. If the knife inserted come clean means cake is done.
  10.  Allow it to cool completely and then cut in slices.

Tips:

If tried to slice without cooling the cake would become crumbly and slices won’t be firm.

Alternatively choco chips can be folded in the batter too instead of topping.

Half wheat flour, half APF (All Purpose Flour) too can be used.

Don’t skip the oil.

Dates chocochip cake (2)

Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say “there’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. 🙂 Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

One thought on “Dates Choco chip cake

Leave a Reply

