Posted in South style poriyal

Vazhakai (Raw Banana) Podimas

Today I am sharing the recipe of vazakkai. Its known as raw banana in English and Kaccha Kela in hindi. This curry goes well with rice items.

Do try this and let me know your feedback.

Now over to the recipe:

Vazhakai Podimas

Serves:2

Ingredients:

Raw Banana: 1 big or 2 small

Oil: 1 tbsp

Mustard seeds: 1 tsp

Udai dal: 1 tsp

Turmeric powder:1 tsp

Hing: a pinch

Salt : to taste

Curry Leaves: a sping

To Grind:

Coconut: 2 tbsp (grated or cut pieces)

Green chillies: 2

Raw banana curry

 

Method:

  1. Pressure cook the banana after peeling the skin with some water for 1 whistle. Grate them.
  2. Heat oil in a pan and add the seeds and dal. Let it splutter.
  3. Add curry leaves and hing and sauté for 10 seconds.
  4. Add the grated banana and the turmeric powder and salt as needed and sauté till they get blended for a few seconds. Add the grinded paste. Mix well.

Serve hot with steaming rice and any dal/ sambhar/rasam/kadhi.

Tips:

The same curry can be made by chopping the bananas after pressure cooking , instead of grating.

raw banana

 

Author:

Hi This is my chance to introduce myself. I am Parvathi, the author/owner of this space. I blog here about recipes that are simple yet tasty. I try to improvise on recipes without compromising on taste. Cooking is my passion. Though I am not very perfect, I love the imperfections and as they say “there’s always scope of better”. I like to follow that. I believe there’s a story for each recipe and the way it is developed. Also creativity is the secret ingredient of cooking. My inspiration for cooking comes from my mom. As cliched as it sounds, for me she is the best cook. 🙂 Cooking for me is a stress buster. Hoping this space help you too whip some amazing dishes and earn praises from your loved ones. Gmail: foodaterian@gmail.com Instagram: foodaterian Twitter: https://twitter.com/foodaterian

2 thoughts on “Vazhakai (Raw Banana) Podimas

Leave a Reply

